What the heck is “remember, celebrate, trust?”

Welcome to the first blog post! I have to admit that this process has been a bit scary for me, but I am excited to finally get this show on the road.

By way of introduction, beginning this blog has been similar to someone who finds a recipe on the internet, saves it “somewhere,” thinks about it off and on, maybe even buys the ingredients, but doesn’t actually MAKE the dish for a LONG time. That’s me! I have pondered this, talked about it, and even asked a bunch of friends to pray for me during the long planning period. So…here it is! It finally made it out of the oven and onto the table! Let’s pray that it will be tasty and edible!

In addition to procrastination, another big reason I’ve hesitated to dive in has been the sense that “the world” really doesn’t need yet another blog. And yet, those three words {Remember. Celebrate. Trust.} have been burning in me over and over again for about a year, and the encouragement that I have found in pressing in a little deeper is something that I do feel would be good to share. I LOVE to encourage others. We can all use that, right? And, if we can share some genuine conversation and have some deep belly laughs along the way, all the better! Plus, I love to hear and share the stories of others (with permission). There are just too many fascinating people out there to keep silent…

So, here’s a quick overview of what these words have meant to me. They will be “fleshed out” more in future blogs, of course, but here’s the quick and dirty:

REMEMBER.

  • Remember God’s faithfulness.  “I will remember the deeds of the Lord; yes, I will remember your miracles of long ago. I will consider all your works and meditate on all your mighty deeds.”  Psalm 77:11-12 NIV
  • Remember others.  Are we are just going along life with all of its busyness, consumed with our own issues at the time, or are we taking time to remember others? To lift up our eyes and actually see those around us? Preaching to myself first, of course!

CELEBRATE.

  • Celebrate God’s faithfulness.  We will “celebrate your abundant goodness and joyfully sing of your righteousness.”  Psalm 145:7 NIV  There are so many times of celebration in the Bible. Don’t tell me that God doesn’t like a party!  🙂
  • Celebrate others.  Along those same lines, are we taking time to celebrate those around us? Do we rejoice when they rejoice, or do jealousy and comparison immediately creep in? Let’s make a point to celebrate somebody around us today. It doesn’t have to be expensive. Chocolate is always a good option — haha!

TRUST

  • Trust God.  One of my favorite Scriptures about trusting God comes from Proverbs 3:5-6: “Trust in the Lord with all your heart and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge Him, and He will make your paths straight.”  Lots of good stuff in there. Putting it into practice — a little harder to do!

So, there you have it. Thanks for coming along for the ride. I look forward to connecting with you again next time!

Remember.  Celebrate.  Trust.

2 thoughts on “What the heck is “remember, celebrate, trust?”

  1. Dear Lisa,

    The first step is the major one. Your gift for writing and praising God will be an encouragement to me and other readers of your blog.

    Good work ! Be blessed !

    Love and hugs,
    Mom

    Like

Leave a Reply

